About Oakdale Netball Club

Oakdale Netball Club was formed in 1962 by a small group of women who resided at Oaklands Park and Warradale, hence the name “Oakdale”. One of these women was life member, Raechel May who continued her association with the club throughout her life. Raechel awarded an AMND Service Award in 1981 and Life Membership to the club, sadly passed away in 2008. Oakdale Netball Club proudly remembers Raechel and her fellow foundation members through presentation of annual awards in their names. The President’s award for outstanding contribution to the club epitomises Raechel May’s work ethic over considerable time.

Oakdale Netball Club was admitted to SANA (Netball SA) State League Competition in 1982. A compelling feature of the club has always been its commitment to community and this is reflected in high levels of participation at club events and in its support of community initiatives including Asthma Foundation, Red Cross Blood drives and support of groups such as Soles for Souls.


Oakdale draws players from many suburbs around Adelaide – and has grown from a single team, to a major force in Netball, with no less than 30 teams playing at all levels.

Hard work and persistence saw representation at State League level and many of our players [who have been with us since juniors] gained State and All Australian status in Open, Under 21 and Under 19 teams. Players including Michelle den Dekker, Rebecca Sanders, and Peta Scholz began their playing careers at Oakdale Netball Club.

The club has been extremely competitive, finishing in the top four of the State League Premiership table from 2003 to 2009 when the State League team under current SASI Assistant Coach, Megan Carter, won the Premiership in 2009. In 2008, Peta Scholz returned from the Thunderbirds and was awarded the first of successive Netball SA Player of the Year Awards.

In 2012, the club celebrated its 50th birthday. At our 50th Anniversary, we presented Decade of Excellence Awards to those who contributed to our success through leadership, coaching and playing – The following esteemed members were acknowledged:

  • Megan Carter – awarded Coach Excellence Award
  • Peta Scholz – awarded Outstanding Player of the Decade
  • Dalice Kennedy – awarded Outstanding Leader of the Decade

We are proud of our reputation as a family friendly club that is a major source of high quality players to the highest levels of state competition, state representation and in some cases, on national and international stages.